Instagram account has activated the Security Check feature! What is Security Check? Ways to secure your Instagram account


Instagram account has activated the Security Check feature. With the Security Checkup feature, Instagram guides people who may have been compromised on the steps needed to secure their accounts. Some of these steps include checking account login history, reviewing profile information, checking the accuracy of accounts with which account login information has been shared, and updating the contact information needed to retrieve the account, such as phone number, email address.

Instagram also shared some tips to help people keep their accounts secure:

USE TWO-FACTOR AUTHENTICATION

You can use the two-factor authentication feature with your phone number or with applications such as Duo Mobile, Google Authenticator.

UPDATE YOUR PHONE NUMBER AND EMAIL ADDRESS

Make sure your phone number and e-mail address connected to the device you are using are up to date. So, Instagram can contact you when something happens to your account. This step allows you to get your account back even if your information has been changed by the hackers.

INSTAGRAM WILL NEVER SEND YOU A DIRECT MESSAGE

Malicious accounts can send Direct Messages to access sensitive information such as account passwords. They may say that your account is at risk of being terminated, that you are not following Instagram’s intellectual property policies, or that your photos have been shared elsewhere. Instagram will never send you a Direct Message. If Instagram contacts you about your account, you can see it in the “Emails from Instagram” tab in settings.

REPORT CONTENT AND ACCOUNTS YOU FIND SUSPICIOUS

You can report content by clicking the three dots in the upper right corner of the post, pressing and holding a message, or by visiting the account itself and directly on its profile.

ACTIVATE LOGIN REQUEST

When you use two-factor authentication on Instagram, you’ll get a notification when someone tries to log into your account from a device or browser that Instagram doesn’t recognize. This notification informs you from which device the login was attempted and the location of the device. You can instantly approve or deny this request from devices you are already logged in to. You can also view the list of devices that were last logged into your Instagram account at any time under “Settings”, “Security”, “Gestures”. If you don’t recognize a recent listing, you can log out from that location or device and let Instagram know it’s not yours.